Week 47- Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: February 21, 2012 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 47

Wonder Woman

 

I am always exposed –

Even my jet’s invisible.

 

Superman – when he

Flies – looks sleek

Through the sky in his

Tight spandex and red

Cape floating behind –

 

But me, I’m sitting

There, pushing

And pulling unseen

Levers, buttons, controls,

 

In a plane no one

Can see. My legs

Are bare from the red

Boots up to the elastic

of my bodysuit, and the only

 

Armor I have

Is around my wrists.

I’m fast. Deflection

is a skill quick learned

by women. Those bullets

 

Repel from me; but

When I’m in the air,

Naked, what’s to stop

 

A missile from penetrating

The ship with unnoticed

Wings and a woman

In the driver’s seat

Of some indiscernible night.


Leave a Reply

