Week 46- Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 46

Squish

 

The day you drove

Over my heart, I tried

To pick it back up. I wanted

To rush it to the party

Store and have the clerk fill

it up with helium; I wanted

it fixed better than fix-a-flat

Could do. I wanted you –

 

to drive in reverse. Reverse

Time; go back up the road

And uncrush that organ-

 

Mop up its guts

Like a time-machine

Vacuum – but the party

Store is closed now, and

The car you drive seems

To have no gear marked

with an R. You kept

 

Moving forward,

And I grabbed the snow

Shovel out of the shed.

Leave a Reply

