Week 43 ~ Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: January 26, 2012 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 43

Utensils

 

I can write with recesses of memory-

broken swings and hearted-boys.

 

I can write with each ounce of

truth I tried to shake

out of your mouth.

 

I can write with lazy summer

days under a hot Tuscan sun.

 

I can write with dripping

dizziness memories of the way

I loved you.

 

I can write with meth-

lab nights and heroin

afternoons.

 

I can write with coffee stains.

 

I can write with twinkling

lights of good things past.

 

I can write with the icy

fingers of my righteous anger.

 

I can write with a broken, shy

little girl in a yellow, satin nightgown.

 

I can write with the loss of you.

Leave a Reply

