Week 32- Robyn Anne Piper

Posted: November 7, 2011 in Robyn Anne Piper, Week 32

INSULATING- YET DECORATIVE!- FIREPLACE SCREEN

It’s that time of year again, when the winter chill begins to creep into every available space in our house, so this week’s submission is a counter-attack measure.  In the hopes that it will keep the chilly-willies from sneaking down our chimney (though I hope Santa will be able to circumnavigate it somehow) I have created a decorative but functional fireplace screen.

Fellow Geek (and also my hubby!) Michael Piper is responsible for the lovely framing; you could say this piece is a Geek collaboration, because I certainly wouldn’t have known what I was doing without him.

First I painted the screen with a Shaker tree design, which I created to coordinate with a clock I already have.  I used sponge cutouts and acrylic paints.  Here are a couple of pictures of the painted screen with the aforementioned clock:

Next, Mike assisted me with the frame.  We are still deciding how best to keep the thing upright– hence the basket of hats, mittens and scarves holding up one side, and a big rock holding up the other!– and Mike might add some rigid insulation on the back side for added protection from the cold, but other than that, I think our work here is done.

Leave a Reply

