Week 30- Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 30

Norman Bowker Carried a Diary

Fan Fiction for Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried

 

“What will I do without you?” Lilly cried as she stood over Norman and watched him pull on his second, brightly polished combat boot. “How can I -”

 

“Shh.” He looked up at her and let go of his laces and reached a hand up to rest on her expanded belly. “You’ll be fine. You have your mother and mine to wait with you while I’m gone. And, hey, you won’t have to worry about making me dinner for a while.”

 

“I don’t mind that.”

 

“I know. But, I may be home soon. Hear this thing will end soon. The chances are good, right?”

 

“Right. Maybe it will end before you actually even leave basic.”

 

“Maybe.”

 

“I just wish you could be here when he, or she, comes. So, He’ll know his papa right from the start.”

 

“Me, too, baby. Me too.”


Leave a Reply

