Week 30 – Brian Weeks

Posted: October 20, 2011 in Brian Weeks, Week 30

“Religious Experience on the Dance Floor”

A few weeks back, I had a whirlwind visit from one of my oldest and dearest friends. We spent a good portion of the weekend reminiscing and catching up, having not seen each other in 9 years. I knew that we’d be going for a drive back to our hometown to revisit our old haunts, and see what’s changed since we were kids.

When we were teenagers, I used to be the designated DJ in the car (not having a driver’s license) and I was forever making custom mixes for the car, customized to the trip on which we’d be embarking.  I had boxes and boxes of old cassettes, skeletons of years gone by.

I created this CD for the occasion – another continuous mix, this one featuring the club thumpers from the weekend nights we’d spend at the teen clubs of the era: Crack-R-Jax in Belmont, Club DC in Laconia, and Club 21 in Gilford. All of these nasty little “dance clubs” are long gone, but the music remains.

My first trip to a ‘real’ dance club was in October 1991 (wow. 20 years ago. O.o ). The whole crew was at Jenn’s house getting ready, trying to transform ourselves from awkward 14-year-old high school freshmen into mature clubgoers. It was an important night in my adolescence so I remember a lot of details. To set the scene and provide fodder for ridicule, I will share my (then) trendy attire for the evening…

I had just visited the barber shop that morning and had fresh stripes shaved into the side of my head, a la Vanilla Ice.  I was wearing a green and yellow Gold’s Gym t-shirt and a pair of mustard yellow tapered Levi’s 501’s with brand new black and white Adidas Samba sneakers. (I swear this was a cool outfit at some point that weekend.)

Anyway, it was that night that I had my first Religious Experience on the Dance Floor. I heard “Finally” by CeCe Peniston for the first time, and I was instantly a newly converted club kid. I’d have many more life changing moments courtesy of club music, but that was my first, and was my inspiration for the title of the compilation.

As with the last CD I made for an art submission, if any fellow Geekz would like a copy of the CD, just let me know and I’ll be happy to oblige…

Leave a Reply

