Week 19- Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 19

Below is the camera, which I mentioned in my last post; family legend has it that during WWII, my grandmother’s brother, a  photographer stationed with the Canadian army, removed this camera from a fallen German Soldier. Below the photo is a newer poetic attempt at trying to respond to this artifact and to the photograph of my grandparents frolicking on the shore. I posted this photograph as part of my Week 18 submission. 

 

Ballet

On tattered Kodak I

Pirouette in the palm

Of my lover’s outstretched hand. It’s

 

Just a photographic trick

Of perspective and perception and

From the low-angle shot even as

 

I smile to my future father-in-law

As he photographs us at Fundy Park, it’s

1942 and on another beach

 

My enlisted brother photographs

Soldiers dancing to dodge bullets

Across this silver puddle. I could

 

Leap from these hands to the war

He watches develop, bringing

Visible all the images I’ve worked

So hard to ignore.


Leave a Reply

