Week 18- Brian Weeks

Posted: July 26, 2011 in Brian Weeks, Week 18

1987: LAZY SATURDAY AFTERNOON

When I was a kid, the biggest thrill of my week was hopping on my trusty, rusty BMX bike and racing down to Robbin’s General Store on Friday afternoons to spend my hard-earned allowance on comic books, candy, and soda. The $5.00 I received each week in 1987 (equivalent to $3.4 million 2011 dollars – or at least it seemed that way at age 10) was usually enough to keep me in all the comic books I could ever want, and sustain a sugar buzz until the inevitable crash, waiting for the school bus and cranky old Mrs. Belyea on Monday morning.

To be honest, I wasn’t much of a Marvel Comics kid – I much preferred the squeaky-clean antics of Archie, Betty, and Veronica hanging out at Pop Tate’s Malt Shop. All my friends were into superhero stuff. As an adult, I’ve gained a bit of appreciation for the storylines and the art that went into them. What strikes me more now are the advertisements for products I had, or lusted after.

What Generation X boy WASN’T obsessed at one time with D&D, video games, and helping Spider-Man free Cap’n Crunch? Any given Saturday afternoon, I’d be sprawled out someplace with a pile of comic books. Long after the cartoons and American Bandstand were over and “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom” or “ABC’s Wide World of Sports” were on, that would be my cue to escape into the pages of my favorite comics  with a glass bottle of Jolt Cola and a pile of Little Debbie snacks…

If you were to saw open my brain in 1987, this is pretty much what you’d see. (Hell, more than 25 years later, it’s STILL a fair representation of what’s on my mind.)

Lastly, to any comic book fans out there – yes, several comic books were harmed in the making of this collage. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

