Week 10- R.A. Matheson

Posted: June 5, 2011 in R.A. Matheson, Week 10

Here’s to Missing You

This house is quiet and so I fill it with sounds

but none is as calming as your simple steps

I shower to warm away the ache of not having you

but only wonder what you are doing

As I crack knuckles I wonder if you might be also doing it

Inhaled cigarette wishing you were killing yourself next to me

Wonder what if you had quiet moments staring out at trees

While my quiet moments turn me down

Was your sleep filled with candy and custard

As mine was filled with a dark wood on a cliff-side and friends lost to heroin

I am awaiting you return in the only way I know how

But it’s useless

Comments
  1. Caron says:

    I can relate to this. Like it very much.

  2. Heather says:

    I have felt this.

Leave a Reply

