Week 8- Heather Ouellette-Cygan

Posted: May 22, 2011 in Heather Ouellette-Cygan, Week 08

Throw this Brick of Grief through My Plate-glass Window Self


And so, as my heart is breaking,

this I know: anger is

an easy emotion. It masks

Sorrow witnessing

the loss that errs

in your frail body

waving and falling,

too slowly, away from

this tethering earth.

I’d mourn, but fury

is a cloak to guard

against that evil.

A red number that

drapes, lush velvet

to the floor. Dramatic,

it yells, bangs

pots in the kitchen;

is glib when you ask

for help and don’t say please.

And no tears ball up

in the apples of my

cheeks, cause rashes,

eat my flesh. Flesh

out my heart. Yes,

this slow burn is

an Armani gown, flowing

and matching the red carpet

to the Oscars. Best

Actress, that’s me.

No statue this time,

You’ll see.

Leave a Reply

